IMG_20150725_160024

One of the most useful and beautiful things you can add to your backyard or property is a Zen garden. In fact, I’m writing this article from mine right now. As you can see, you don’t need a huge budget or a lot of property to make a serene respite from the world. You can even build a Zen garden indoors.

Now, I would love to add a fountain, a nice statue, some tile accents and lots of other things but as you can see my Zen garden looks pretty good even without them. The only things I’ve added that are not visible in the picture above are an aromatherapy burner and a tabletop tiki torch to keep away bugs and enhance the ambience. I will be adding a vintage bathtub in the future. That I refuse to compromise on.

I created mine in a shady spot so that I didn’t have to worry about the sun beating down on me while I’m out here. I felt it was very important for all of the elements to be represented in mine as well, but yours can contain absolutely anything you want. Mine also contains a cot which aids in meditation and doubles as a massage table when my husband or myself are feeling a little indulgent. This can be folded up easily and put away so that the mats can be utilized for sitting meditation.

There are lots of different things you can add to your Zen garden and lots of different ways you can make it appealing and attractive, but the most important thing is that it fill you with relaxation when you use it. Whether you use it for meditation, spiritual journeying or even just for a 10 minute time out during the day, relaxation and serenity is the most important part of any Zen garden.

If you have a Zen garden, I would love to hear your ideas or see pictures of what’s in it!

IMG_20150727_212940

zen

