I usually make a ham for Christmas. I also make one for Thanksgiving (I’m not a big turkey fan). This year though I’ve started making hams more regularly than just holidays because economically, they make sense considering how many days’ worth of food you can get out of just one. Because of that, I’m just a little sick of ham. Sick enough of it to want to make something different for Christmas dinner, anyway.

I started thinking about what that could be. It needed to feel festive and it needed to feel “fancy” enough to be Christmas dinner. Then I thought, why not a nice roast beef? We don’t eat beef very often in my family; only about once a month. And does anything look better than a juicy grass-fed roast beef?

I scoured the internet and found what looks to be a great way to cook it. I think with some red skin mashed potatoes and carmelized apples, carrots and onions, it would be delicious. After I read it, I remembered a friend had actually told me about this method before but I’d never tried it. Since I thought some of you might want a change this holiday season, I thought I’d share the technique. You can use any cut of beef for this and any size. It will create a perfect medium rare roast beef. If you like it a little more done than that — lots of folks do — you can increase the time to 7 or 8 minutes per pound. Experiment with it and see what works for you.

Important pre-cooking instructions: Let your roast sit out until it is room temperature before you put it in the oven.

1. Preheat oven to 500 degrees. Wait for a few minutes before you put the roast in, so that the oven is as hot as possible.

2. Put the roast in a shallow pan.
3. Cut onion into thin rings, and put all over the top and sides of the roast using toothpicks if necessary. OPTIONAL
4. Season to your liking.

5. Put roast in the oven on the middle rack.

6. Bake at 500 degrees for 5 minutes per pound, then shut off oven, and let sit in the oven for 1 hour. DO NOT open the oven door. VERY IMPORTANT!

7. After you turn off the oven and your roast has baked for l hour, take it out of the oven, and let it rest for 15-20 minutes.

Ta-da! That’s it. Enjoy!!
PS: If you do make a ham, check out our Entrees section for a delicious potato-ham chowder recipe to make with your leftover ham.
