I read an article today about Dr. Terry Wahls curing herself of Multiple Sclerosis (MS) and it got me thinking. I am not an advocate for dieting or diets or food crazes or any of that nonsense. I have never really been overweight so I guess I never really thought about it. . In fact, I have been asked by doctors many times in my life if I am anorexic or have some kind of eating disorder. The answer is no, I’ve just always been skinny. I’m 5ft tall and I haven’t ever really weighed more than 95-100 lbs. since I was 12 years old except when I was pregnant. Starting in 2010 though, I gained quite a bit of weight. I weighed almost 125 lbs. by 2012 and that might not sound like a lot but for me it was really unbelievable. I couldn’t figure out why I was gaining weight. To just all of a sudden start gaining weight after 30 years of weighing the same amount is a little upsetting but I chalked it up to just getting older, even though that didn’t feel like the right answer to me because I also had other symptoms and they were getting worse as well.

See, I thought I had MS for almost 15 years. All the symptoms fit and it just kept getting worse. Some days I could not get out of bed. Walking to the bathroom would make me feel like I was going to pass out. Muscle aches and strains for no reason, shortness of breath, burning, itching, pinching and stabbing sensations all over my body, heart palpitations, anemia… the list I wrote out one time was like 100 symptoms long. I was miserable. Some days I would literally and seriously think that if I had to live the rest of my life feeling like that, what was the point? But I moved to an area 250 miles away last year. I stopped eating all processed foods and began eating as much organic food as possible. I cut almost almost all grains and bread out of my diet. (I was pretty much following this new Paleo diet thing without realizing it; seems the creators of that diet and I had the same basic idea.) I cut way (WAY) back on soda and caffeinated drinks and drink only distilled water. I don’t eat fast food at all. And you know what? Not only are my symptoms gone but I lost over 20 lbs. and am back to the weight I have been most of my life.

Oddly, I went through two rather serious flu-type illnesses during the changeover to this type of diet and eliminating the processed foods. One of these illnesses everybody caught (though I was sick first and a lot longer than everybody else) but the first time I was the only one who was sick. I had a high fever, aches, chills, rapid heartbeat and could barely move. The second time about a month later there was vomiting as well. After that, I was basically better. I always wondered if it was some weird detox thing.

Could it have been an environmental thing making me sick for all those years? Sure, maybe. Wouldn’t be a surprise with all the bad stuff they are putting into the air and the water. But I have never felt better now and I am not about to go back to eating like that. EVER. You don’t need that crap in your life. It is literally poisoning you.

