I hate chemicals. We are trying to ditch them as much as possible. I use DIY cleaners exclusively now. They are really easy to make and different ones serve different purposes.

The easiest is simply:

1 part vinegar

1 part hot water

This is a disinfectant, an all-purpose cleaner, a de-greaser and more. When I use it to clean the floors, I squeeze a lemon into the bucket too, so it smells better. Lemons also add disinfectant properties to it. You can also add 10 drops of tea tree oil or lavender to make it even stronger. That kills the vinegar smell if it bothers you but really, the vinegar smell goes away when it dries.

Another really easy one is:

16oz spray bottle

2 tbsp castile soap

2 tsp baking soda

fill the rest with hot water

This is an all-purpose cleaner and works well on grease. You can add tea tree oil or lavender to make it a disinfectant. This can be used as a dishwashing soap too, but you may want to add glycerin or more soap to thicken it up.

You can use just plain vinegar for preventing shower scum, mold, for cleaning all your glass and mirrors, as fabric softener and as a rinse for your hair.

Rose & lemon vinegar infusions I am making in some old bottles.

Rose & lemon vinegar infusions I am making in some old bottles.

When you figure how cheap vinegar is, there is really no reason to buy other things. I have personally used it for all of these things and I can honestly say that it works very well. You can make vinegar infusions with herbs and flowers if you want to change the way it smells, or you can add essential oils to it.

I use it all the time and I have to say, I don’t know if my floors have ever been so clean.

Need more info about essential oils?

You can download the most popular essential oil encyclopedia app on Amazon. This app is also available on the Google Play store.

