You know, in some ways I yearn to go back to simpler times. Like I really do. I use the internet and I make music. I use technology for many things but I still hate it. I hate the way it distracts everybody from real life. I hate the way it absorbs everyone’s attention so completely. Have you ever seen the videos of people walking into fountains and falling off of things because they cannot take their eyes off of the damn phone for 2 seconds to look where they’re going? That just makes me sad and angry. The zombie apocalypse is here but it isn’t the one you’ve expected. (I’ve been saying that since way before it became a popular internet meme, by the way.)

As you know, I have cut tv from my life and my family’s lives. We don’t miss it. We have DVDs of shows like MASH and The Golden Girls, and movies. We watch shows that we like on the internet sometimes but to be honest, we don’t even do that very often. I’d love to cut out the internet too, but our son is autistic and we home school him so we need the internet for that. I make a lot of the things we use from scratch, especially food products but also household cleaners and other things. I don’t want to pay for them and I don’t want the chemicals. I just mopped my floor with a solution of white vinegar, lemon juice and hot water yesterday. Cleanest it’s been in a while and I don’t worry about my kids walking on it in bare feet.

I’ve been washing my hair with the herbal shampoo recipe on the Pioneer Woman page here on the blog and it took a bit of getting used to but I have to admit, I really like it. I follow it with a 50/50 rinse made of apple cider vinegar and water. Much cheaper than shampoo and conditioner and seems to work without stripping my hair of it’s natural oils. It’s weird; my hair still has it’s natural oils but it does not look or feel greasy. Also, the shampoo has no chemicals. No animal testing. I infused the shampoo with wild rose & lemon and it smells wonderful, too. Working on some infused vinegar to match.

I am on a mission to eradicate all chemicals from my home and so far I have made many great strides in doing so. I really hope a lot of other people try to follow suit if they can. I am not rich by any stretch of the imagination. We don’t even own a car. If I can do it, you can do it.

