After months of eating a certain way to avoid GMOs, I finally decided to look into whatever this “paleo” thing was that I kept seeing everywhere. I had no idea what it was, so imagine my surprise to find out that I was more of less following it all this time! Blew my mind. I don’t care about diets and counting calories and all that. Never have. It seems Paleothe paleo diet creators and I had the same basic idea: if you did not eat it before (as in, during our ancestry), why would you eat it now? Sucks that they are now becoming rich off the idea and I’m not. But I’ve lost 20lbs and have never felt better, so there’s that.

I don’t follow it strictly; I do still eat some grains (biscuits every once in awhile and I eat organic pasta sometimes) and I do not eat seafood in any shape or form (I think the ocean is too dirty) but mostly yes, I’ve been adhering to this diet. Kind of crazy, especially if you know me. The idea of adhering to someone else’s idea of what my health or well-being should be is totally against my nature. But there it is. I take some comfort in knowing that I did come up with it on my own. Just that someone else also thought of it. :)

As for the virtues of this diet, I have not been following it exactly so I couldn’t say but I will say that I absolutely feel better and have for months. If you read the About page on this site, you know that I thought I had MS for years. Changing my diet changed that. I can’t say enough good things about it. Is it a pain in the rear? Sure. But nothing worth doing is ever easy. Changing your diet is hard but in my experience, it is worth it.

